May 21, 2018, 08:23:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Yates to bring back #28 in 2008  (Read 376 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Hall of Fame
Offline Offline

Posts: 5407

« on: November 19, 2007, 01:36:34 PM »


From Jayski:

"Yates Racing will resurrect the #28 next season with driver Travis Kvapil. The number, which has been driven by 10 of the 40 winningest drivers in NASCAR history for 76 victories, hasn't been used since Ricky Rudd was behind the wheel at RYR in 2002. "Hopefully, we can do the things we used to do with it," said Doug Yates, the co-owner of RYR. Among those that have driven the 28 are Cale Yarborough, Bobby Allison, Donnie Allison, Davey Allison, Dale Jarrett and Ernie Irvan. Davey Allison won 19 races with the number between 1987 and his tragic helicopter death in 1993. Rudd last drove the number from 2000 to 2002, collecting three wins and 53 top 10s. He was fifth in points in his first season, fourth in 2001 and 10th in 2002. Yates is making the switch because it gave the #88 to Dale Earnhardt Jr. to use at Hendrick Motorsports next season. "We hope it brings back the good times we had before," he said. "It's always been a number we've been fond of."("

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!